Connect with us

Recipes with Whole Wheat Pasta

Are Oats Gluten-Free? Steel-Cut and Rolled Oatmeal

Published

on

Oats are a magical grain. You can eat them raw, cooked, or as a topping, or even use them for baking. But one thing we’re not entirely sure about is whether oats are gluten-free.

It’s actually a big debate: while the answer is technically yes, gluten contamination is still an issue. Here’s what we know

So what is gluten? Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, and rye. It gives bread and pasta the elastic and chewy texture that we love. (Hello, pizza dough. 🤤)

Most people can eat gluten without any problems, but it can cause some serious digestive problems in people with gluten intolerance, sensitivity, or allergies. This is because its amino acid structure can block digestive enzymes in your intestines. (Ouch – get the kombucha ready.)

People with celiac disease must avoid gluten at all costs. Unlike an intolerance or allergy, celiac disease is an autoimmune disease in which your immune system attacks your body in response to eating gluten.

Say you have celiac disease and you eat bread filled with gluten. Your body is essentially attacking itself in defense, particularly by damaging your small intestine. This causes your intestines to absorb fewer nutrients, causing a number of digestive side effects, and increasing your risk of colon cancer.

A gluten-free diet is best for people with celiac disease or intolerance. If you think gluten is bothering your body, try adding gluten-free options to your diet to see if anything changes. Trust us: gluten-free options are just as delicious.

Oats are naturally gluten-free and safe for most people with gluten intolerance or celiac disease. However, if the oats are processed in the same company as wheat, barley or rye, slight contamination with gluten is possible (damn it!).

A 2013 study suggests that most people with a wheat allergy or celiac disease can eat 50 to 100 grams (that’s 2 to 3.5 ounces, or a little less than 1/2 cup) of pure oats per day with no harmful effects.

And research from 2014 suggests that adding oats to a gluten-free diet may be beneficial and aid intestinal healing.

Technically, yes, but there is contamination.

Oatmeal goes through a steaming and smoothing process. They have a softer texture than oatmeal and have been partially cooked. Steel cut oatmeal is chopped with large steel blades and has a coarser, tougher texture. They have a lower glycemic index than oatmeal and are high in fiber.

Steel oats are most commonly produced in the same facilities as wheat products, so there is a higher chance of cross-contamination.

This damn oat-wrecking cross-contamination can happen in a number of different ways.

First of all, you can blame agriculture. Oats are often grown alongside other crops that may contain gluten. Farmers typically use the same equipment for neighboring crops. Even the seeds may have a slight trace of gluten from nearby wheat, barley, or rye (but why?).

But there is good news: In recent years, manufacturers have paid more and more attention to the cultivation and processing of gluten-free oats (rejoice!).

Some manufacturers have teamed up, designate gluten-free fields and have started cleaning their devices with gluten after they have finished working.

The FDA allows oats processed in this way to be labeled “gluten-free” as long as they contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) gluten.

Yes, gluten-free oats can still contain a tiny amount of gluten if somehow contaminated along the way. And as little as 20 ppm gluten can be enough to trigger a reaction in some people with celiac disease.

A 2008 study found that 109 out of 134 “pure, uncontaminated” oat products contained traces of gluten.

But things seem to be getting better in the United States since the FDA intervened. A 2014 study of gluten-free food labels in the United States found that 95 percent of the products tested had less than 20 ppm gluten.

Some people may also have problems with another protein in oats called avenin.

Avenin has a similar amino acid structure to gluten, which means it can cause similar problems, but this is very rare. Most people sensitive to gluten (or even people with celiac disease) do not respond to avenin at all and can still eat a lot of oats.

In a 2015 study, researchers found that around 8 percent of participants with celiac disease responded to consuming a large serving (100 grams) of oatmeal. They concluded that 100 grams of oats per day was not enough to cause a reaction and that the oats were perfectly safe to eat.

Now comes the good stuff. Oatmeal has the benefits your gluten-free (or non-gluten-free) heart desires. (Literally, they have heart benefits.)

Oats are a great source of B vitamins and minerals like magnesium, iron, selenium, manganese, and zinc.

The fiber in oats is also good for your heart and can help reduce your risk of heart disease, prevent diabetes, and lower blood sugar levels.

Oats are generally a good source of the nutrients you need in a gluten-free diet. To get the most nutrients from oats, opt for unprocessed oats and make your own oatmeal instead of buying pre-made options with tons of sugar.

Oats are our friends and food. Here are two easy ways to eat gluten-free rolled oats and steel cut oats:

Adding oats to your gluten-free diet can be beneficial for your health. If you have celiac disease or a similar condition, read the food labels carefully and do research on different brands of gluten-free oats. Some gluten-free oatmeal may still contain traces of gluten.

Pure oats and gluten-free oats are available at almost every grocery store, cooperative, or online marketplace. Stock up now and enjoy the oat life.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recipes with Whole Wheat Pasta

Whole-Grain Pasta With Mushrooms — Recipes for Health

Published

on

Pasta makers have made great strides when it comes to whole wheat pasta. On a small scale, Community Grains in Northern California makes excellent pasta using their amazing whole wheat flour, and on a larger commercial scale, companies like Barilla are always selling better products. For this spring mix I used Barilla Penne.

2 pounds of fava beans, peeled

1 pound of asparagus

2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

1 shallot, chopped

1/2 pound wild mushrooms, quartered or sliced, or creminis, quartered if small, sliced ​​if large

2 cloves of garlic or 1 small onion of green garlic, chopped

Salt to taste

4 large basil leaves, torn into small pieces or cut into strips

3/4 pound whole wheat pasta like penne or fusilli

Freshly grated parmesan for serving

1. Start heating a large saucepan of water while you peel the favas. Fill a bowl with cold water. When the water is boiling, add a generous amount of salt and add the asparagus. Blanch thin stems for 3 minutes, thick stems for 4 to 5 minutes. Pour into cold water, drain and cut into 2.5 cm pieces. Put aside.

2. Bring the water back to the boil and add the favas. Cook for 3 to 5 minutes, depending on the size of the beans. Drain and immediately add to cold water. Let the beans cool for a few minutes, then slide off the skin by pinching the skin eye and squeezing it gently.

3. Heat 1 tbsp olive oil in a large, heavy pan over medium heat and add the shallot. Cook, stirring, for 2 to 3 minutes until translucent, then add the mushrooms. Cook, stirring frequently, until the mushrooms are tender and sweaty, about 3 minutes, then add the garlic. Cook, stirring, until fragrant, 30 seconds to a minute, then add salt and pepper to taste. Continue cooking, stirring, until the mushrooms are tender, fragrant and juicy, another 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in asparagus and favas and remove from heat, but keep warm.

4th Bring the water in the pot back to the boil and add the pasta. Cook al dente using the times on the package as a guide, but check the pasta one minute before the time allotted. When the pasta is done, use a ladle to add 1/2 cup of pasta boiling water to the pan with the vegetables and another 1/2 cup in a bowl if you want to moisten the mixture more. Drain the pasta and mix with the vegetables and basil at the same time. Add more cooking water if you like. Serve hot and serve the parmesan at the table.

Yield: 4 to 6 servings.

Preparation in advance: You can cook the veggies through step 3 several hours before cooking the pasta.

Variation: You can replace the beans with peas.

Nutritional information per serving (4 servings): 531 calories; 10 grams of fat; 1 gram of saturated fat; 2 grams of polyunsaturated fat; 6 grams of monounsaturated fat; 0 milligrams of cholesterol; 92 grams of carbohydrates; 21 grams of fiber; 11 milligrams of sodium (does not contain salt to taste); 25 grams of protein

Nutritional information per serving (6 servings): 354 calories; 7 grams of fat; 1 gram of saturated fat; 1 gram of polyunsaturated fat; 4 grams of monounsaturated fat; 0 milligrams of cholesterol; 61 grams of carbohydrates; 14 grams of fiber; 7 milligrams of sodium (does not contain salt to taste); 17 grams of protein

Martha Rose Shulman is the author of The Very Best of Recipes for Health.

Continue Reading

Recipes with Whole Wheat Pasta

15 recipes and their health benefits

Published

on

We offer products that we believe will be useful to our readers. If you buy from links on this page, we may earn a small commission. Here is our process.

Making delicious, healthy gluten-free meals is easier than many people think.

People with celiac disease have severe gluten intolerance and must eat gluten-free meals to stay healthy. Other people may have non-celiac gluten sensitivity and find that not eating gluten reduces gas and gas and bloating. Some people choose a gluten-free diet because they believe it is healthier.

Gluten is a substance naturally found in wheat, rye, barley, and most types of pasta and grains. To prepare healthy gluten-free meals, people can use a wide range of substitute ingredients and whole foods, including quinoa, buckwheat, potatoes, gluten-free flour, and gluten-free oats.

In this article, we provide 15 healthy recipes for gluten-free meals. People looking to eat gluten free can use this article to help plan breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Here are five recipe ideas for a healthy gluten-free breakfast to keep a person feeling full by lunch:

1. Greek scrambled eggs

Greek scrambled eggs that contain feta are an easy, high-protein way to start the day. It only takes 10-15 minutes to prepare this dish.

One large hard-boiled egg contains 6.29 grams (g) of protein, according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture. The recommended daily protein value for adults in the United States is around 50 grams per day for someone on a 2,000 calorie diet. People with different daily calorie needs may need more or less protein.

Eating a protein-rich breakfast can make a person feel full longer, which can help prevent them from snacking all day.

Here is a recipe for Greek scrambled eggs.

2. Baby spinach omelette

A baby spinach omelette is another dish that can give people a protein hit in the morning. With the inclusion of spinach in this gluten-free breakfast option, it’s also high in iron.

Iron is critical to a person’s health. Without iron, the body cannot make red blood cells to carry oxygen around the body.

Vitamin C helps the body absorb iron from food. In the morning, squeeze a lemon over a spinach omelette or drink a glass of fresh orange juice with an iron-rich breakfast.

Here is a recipe for a baby spinach omelette.

3. Gluten free banana muffins

Going gluten-free doesn’t mean giving up classic breakfasts. People can make banana muffins gluten-free by using gluten-free flour, which is available at many grocery stores. People can also choose between types of gluten-free flours on-line.

Bananas are a good source of fiber, vitamin C, potassium, and manganese.

Here is a recipe for gluten-free banana muffins.

4. Breakfast tomatoes

Breakfast tomatoes are hollowed out tomatoes that are baked in the oven with eggs.

In addition to being high in protein from the eggs, this gluten-free meal also provides a number of vitamins, including vitamin C.

Tomatoes are rich in fiber and vitamins A, C and K.

Here is a recipe for breakfast tomatoes.

5. Gluten-free overnight oats

Overnight oats are ideal for people who have little time in the morning, as they are prepared the evening before.

Oats are a good source of a fiber called beta-glucans. Research suggests that beta-glucans from oats can lower a person’s cholesterol levels.

The dietary guidelines for Americans recommend up to 28 g of fiber per day for women and up to 34 g for men, depending on age.

Gluten-free oats are available at most grocery stores as well on-line.

Here is a recipe for gluten-free overnight oats.

Here is a selection of delicious gluten-free lunch ideas:

6. Chopped Thai Salad

Those looking for a colorful lunch can try making this chopped Thai salad, which is bright orange, red, and green and is packed with nutritious vegetables.

The main ingredients are carrots, kale, paprika, and edamame beans. Kale is high in iron and protein, which makes it a particularly healthy addition. Edamame beans are one of the richest sources of protein for people on a vegetarian and vegan diet.

Here is a recipe for chopped Thai salad.

7. Herb salad with tuna and white beans

Another healthy and gluten-free salad that is a great option for lunch is herb salad with tuna and white beans.

Tuna is a source of omega-3 fatty acids. Research has shown that omega-3 fatty acid supplements can lower triglyceride levels and improve symptoms of rheumatoid arthritis.

Here is a recipe for herb salad with tuna and white beans.

8. Chicken Quinoa Burrito Bowls

Chicken Quinoa Burrito Bowls use quinoa instead of wheat-based grains. Quinoa is a naturally gluten-free grain that is high in protein.

People can substitute tuna for chicken if they are eating fish but not meat, and they can also swap out the vegetables in this recipe for their seasonal favorites.

Here is a recipe for Chicken Quinoa Burrito Bowls.

9. Fully loaded sweet potatoes

Fully loaded sweet potatoes are a hearty and filling gluten-free lunch option.

These vegetables are good sources of fiber and vitamin A.

Here is a recipe for fully loaded sweet potatoes.

10. Gluten free vegan wraps

Gluten-free vegan wraps are quick and easy to prepare.

The recipe below shows how to make the gluten-free tortillas from scratch. To save time, a person can use gluten-free tortillas from a grocery store instead.

People can mix and match their wrap fillings. Healthy options include lettuce leaves with scrambled tofu, vegan chickpea mayonnaise, or “lazy falafel”. Combining lettuce leaves with a source of protein helps balance the nutritional content of this meal.

Here is a recipe for gluten-free vegan wraps.

There are many options when it comes to gluten free dinner. Here are some ideas for gluten-free meals for dinner:

11. Vegan chilli

Vegan chili is a hearty dinner that’s easy to prepare and goes well with quinoa, a gluten-free alternative to gluten-containing grains.

Full of black beans, pinto beans, and tomatoes, vegan chili is high in fiber. Beans are also a great source of protein.

Here is a recipe for vegan chili.

12. Chicken with braised peppers and tomatoes

Chicken with braised peppers and tomatoes is a nutritious gluten-free option for dinner.

This colorful dish contains protein from chicken, vitamin C from tomatoes, and vitamins A and C from red peppers.

Here is a recipe for chicken with braised peppers and tomatoes.

13. Crockpot sweet potato lentils

Crockpot sweet potato lentils are a filling stew stew similar to dhal. The main ingredients are sweet potatoes and red lentils, which in the recipe are cooked with coconut milk.

This gluten-free meal is high in fiber and vitamin A from the sweet potatoes. The red lentils are also rich in protein.

Here is a recipe for crockpot sweet potato lentils.

14. Indian flavored salmon

Indian Seasoned Salmon is a tasty, low-carb, gluten-free dinner option that can be served with any seasonal green vegetable.

Like tuna, salmon is high in omega-3 fatty acids that reduce inflammation.

Here is a recipe for Indian flavored salmon.

15. Winter cabbage salad with apples and pecans

Winter cabbage salad with apples and pecans is a light gluten-free dinner option that is easy to throw together.

Pecans are high in antioxidants that can support heart health. Research shows that a diet high in pecans can reduce heart disease risk factors in people who are overweight or obese.

Here is a recipe for winter cabbage salad with apples and pecans.

People can prepare a wide variety of gluten-free meals by replacing wheat, grains, and pasta with gluten-free alternatives. Eating a nutritious diet can improve a person’s physical and mental health, and it’s easy to prepare gluten-free meals that are high in protein, vitamins, and other essential nutrients.

Continue Reading

Recipes with Whole Wheat Pasta

Is rice gluten-free? Nutritional facts and alternatives

Published

on

Gluten is a type of protein found in some but not all grains. People with celiac disease need to avoid gluten in their diet. Others can avoid it as a lifestyle.

Gluten is found in barley, wheat, rye, and triticale, a cross between wheat and rye. Gluten helps foods like bread, pasta, and cereal hold their shape by acting as a kind of “glue”.

Not all grains contain gluten, however, and people with celiac disease can eat these grains without any side effects. Is rice one of them? We’ll find out.

What is gluten Learn more about it here.

Share on PinterestAlthough rice is gluten-free, there is often cross-contact with our grains during the harvesting process.

Rice is a grain, but unlike many other grains, it’s gluten-free.

All rice is naturally gluten-free, regardless of whether it is white, brown, black or so-called wild rice.

Even sticky rice is gluten-free, despite the name. The term “sticky” describes the stickiness of the rice. It doesn’t refer to gluten.

Manufacturers use rice instead of wheat in many gluten-free products. However, while all rice is gluten-free in its natural form, that does not mean that all rice and rice products are gluten-free.

If in doubt, check the label on the packaging or contact the manufacturer for more information.

What if a person has celiac disease? Find out here.

Cross contact

Rice can sometimes come into contact with barley, wheat, or rye during the growing, harvesting, or manufacturing process. This is known as cross contact. It is different from cross contamination, which is a common factor in foodborne illnesses.

Cross-contact between rice and gluten can also occur at home. This can happen when people use the same utensils and cooking areas to prepare both gluten-free and gluten-containing foods.

People should be careful about items they find in a kitchen, including:

  • Sieves
  • shared containers
  • Spices

Wheat flour can also remain in the air for many hours, contaminating surfaces, utensils, and uncovered food. Thorough cleaning usually prevents cross contact.

Cross contact can also occur when bakeries sell gluten-free food along with other goods and when people put gluten-free goods in bulk containers in grocery stores.

If a person has celiac disease and cannot confirm the ingredients of a food, it is best not to eat that food.

For people with gluten-related illnesses, avoiding foods containing gluten is the only known way to avoid damage to the intestinal lining and other related symptoms.

Rice-based products

Just because manufacturers advertise a rice-based product as “rice” doesn’t mean it’s gluten-free. Rice-based products often contain spices, sauces, and other ingredients that may contain gluten.

Flavored rice often contains a wheat-based thickener called hydrolyzed wheat protein. It can also contain flavor enhancers like soy sauce, which is usually not gluten-free.

Sometimes a manufacturer uses tamari instead to enhance the flavor. This usually doesn’t contain gluten, but it would be advisable to always read the labels before consuming any food.

People sometimes make rice pilaf with orzo, but that’s not gluten-free.

People with gluten-related diseases should only eat rice-based products that are labeled “gluten-free”. You should avoid products that say “contains wheat” or a label containing gluten-containing ingredients.

People should also avoid grain-based products and items that a manufacturer made using the same equipment as products that contain wheat or gluten. Just because a product is “wheat-free” doesn’t mean it’s gluten-free.

Starchy foods are a significant source of carbohydrates for many people and play an important role in a healthy diet.

A person on a gluten-free diet can gain weight with rice and rice-based products. However, if too much of their diet is focused on white rice, they can miss out on important nutrients.

Cutting out wheat and other whole grains can result in low levels of:

People who eliminate gluten from their diets should plan carefully to ensure they are consuming a range of nutrients. Healthy foods on a gluten-free diet include legumes, fruits, and vegetables.

Arsenic in rice

There are two types of arsenic. The first type, organic arsenic, is relatively non-toxic. However, the second type, called inorganic arsenic, is more toxic.

According to the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), rice tends to accumulate more arsenic than other food crops. In fact, it is possibly the greatest nutritional source of inorganic arsenic.

Many people ingest very small amounts of arsenic, and arsenic does not often cause symptoms of intoxication. However, long-term consumption of inorganic arsenic can increase the risk of various chronic diseases.

These include:

Since arsenic is toxic to nerve cells, it can affect brain function. In children and adolescents, exposure to arsenic can impair concentration, learning, memory, and social skills.

Arsenic can cause health problems for anyone who consumes significant amounts of rice and rice products on a daily basis. However, going gluten-free doesn’t mean a person needs to eat rice primarily.

People can include many different foods in their diet to ensure they are getting a wide variety of nutrients. This way, you can also avoid the risk of consuming too much of dangerous substances like arsenic.

Rice is mostly made up of carbohydrates with a small amount of protein and almost no fat.

Brown rice

Brown or whole grain rice is a good source of fiber and is high in vitamins and minerals in bran and germ. It can also be a good source of the antioxidants phytic acid, ferulic acid, and lignans.

A quarter cup of uncooked whole grain rice weighing 42 grams (g) can provide approximately:

  • 150 calories (kcal)
  • 32 g of carbohydrates
  • 3 g protein
  • 1 g fiber
  • 1.5 milligrams (mg) iron
  • 100 mg of potassium
  • 2 mg niacin (vitamin B-3)

Eating brown rice and other whole grains can have positive effects on heart health. People think brown rice is a low glycemic index food, and when eaten in moderation, it can help control blood sugar levels in type 2 diabetes.

Brown rice can also help regulate bowel function and prevent various types of cancer.

Can People With Diabetes Eat Rice? Find out here.

white rice

Manufacturers grind brown rice to make white rice. This processing removes the bran and the germ of the brown rice, which increases the shelf life.

Some people prefer the texture and taste of white rice. However, grinding removes valuable nutrients like fiber, essential fatty acids, B vitamins, iron and other nutrients.

A quarter cup of uncooked white rice weighing 45 g makes approximately:

  • 155 kcal
  • 35 g of carbohydrates
  • 0.4 mg iron

It doesn’t provide fiber or B vitamins.

White rice, like other processed foods, can cause blood sugar levels to rise. This can make it difficult for people with type 2 diabetes to control their blood sugar levels.

Aside from providing basic nutrients and energy, white rice has no real health benefits.

Fortified white rice, on the other hand, contains a variety of nutrients that are added through processing. It can be a healthy option for a person who only likes white rice, even though it contains less fiber than brown rice.

Learn more about how brown rice compares to white rice.

Wild rice

Although it is called rice, wild rice comes from four types of grass. It contains more protein, minerals, and fiber than white rice.

A quarter cup of wild rice weighing 45g can provide:

  • 160 kcal
  • 34 g of carbohydrates
  • 7 g protein
  • 0 g fat
  • 3 g of fiber
  • 0.7 mg iron

Wild rice can have health benefits, including:

  • help protect heart health
  • Support of digestive processes
  • Strengthening the immune system with vitamin C.
  • Reducing the likelihood of certain medical conditions such as cardiovascular disease, diabetes, and some cancers

Black or purple rice can also have health benefits and can be a change from brown or white rice. Find out more about purple rice here.

Rice isn’t the only source of gluten-free grain.

There are many gluten-free grains, starches, and other foods that people can eat as part of a healthy and balanced diet.

These include:

  • Amaranth
  • arrowroot
  • Beans
  • Buckwheat groats
  • manioc
  • share
  • flax
  • Corn
  • millet
  • Nut flours
  • gluten-free oats
  • potato
  • Andean millet
  • Sorghum
  • soy
  • tapioca
  • teff
  • yucca

Some of these are available in grocery stores, but others are only available in health food stores.

Avoid cereals containing gluten

The following grains and their derivatives contain gluten. People with gluten-related diseases should avoid these special types of grain.

  • barley
  • Brewing yeast
  • status
  • Einkorn wheat
  • emmer
  • farina
  • Spelt
  • graham
  • KAMUT khorasan wheat
  • malt
  • rye
  • semolina
  • Spelt
  • triticale
  • wheat
  • Wheat berries

Wheat starch contains gluten, but some manufacturers remove gluten when processing wheat starch.

According to the FDA, manufacturers are only allowed to use the “gluten-free” label on a food that contains wheat starch if it contains less than 20 ppm gluten.

All forms of brown rice are gluten-free, and some rice-based products are also gluten-free.

The nutritional value of all types of rice depends to some extent on how they are processed. People should check the label to find out what nutrients their rice contains and choose an appropriate option that is rich in vitamins and minerals, as well as carbohydrates.

You should also check the label to make sure the food is gluten free and has not come into contact with foods containing gluten.

Rice can be a healthy option, but anyone on a gluten-free diet should eat a variety of grains and high-fiber carbohydrates instead of just rice. This will help ensure that your diet is balanced in terms of nutrients.

Continue Reading

Trending

Copyright © 2017 Zox News Theme. Theme by MVP Themes, powered by WordPress.