Is It Really Whole Grain???

Whole grains or foods made from them contain the entire grain seed.  Refined grains contain only part of the seed.  Which grains qualify?  The Whole Grains Council says that the following, when consumed in a form that includes all parts of the seed (bran, germ and endosperm) are generally accepted whole grains:

  • Amaranth
  • Barley
  • Buckwheat
  • Corn (including whole cornmeal and popcorn)
  • Millet
  • Oats (including oatmeal)
  • Quinoa
  • Rice (both brown rice and colored rice, such as black rice)
  • Rye
  • Sorghum (also called milo)
  • Teff
  • Triticale
  • Wheat (including varieties such as spelt, emmer, faro, einkorn Kamut, durm and forms such as bulgur, cracked wheat and wheatberries)
  • Wild Rice

In addition, Canada allows wheat flour to be called “whole wheat” even when up to 5% of the original kernel is missing. So in Canada you’ll hear two terms used:

Whole Wheat Flour – this contains at least 95% of the original kernel

Whole Grain Whole Wheat Flour – this contains 100% of the original kernel

Happy whole grain eating!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>


Fibre | Whole Grains |